football superstars, storm Lagos for 2nd AITEO-NFF Football Awards.

The stage is set for the second AITEO-NFF Football Awards at the Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos on Monday night.

This is the Awards that rewards the best performers in the Nigerian Football industry over a period of 12 months.

AITEO-NFF AWARDS 2019 1Chairman of the Awards Committee and NFF 1st Vice President, Seyi Akinwunmi,told the media on Thursday that the Secretary –General of FIFA, Fatma Samoura will grace the big event.

About 20 Presidents of Member Associations of FIFA and CAF across Africa are also attending the awards.

Chieftains of sponsors AITEO (Nigeria’s leading energy solution company) led by Deputy Managing Director, Francis Peters, will grace Monday’s showpiece.

Six State Governors have also been invited, alongside The Sports Minister Solomon Dalung, Board Members of the NFF, the Congress, and the NFF Management.

Leading television stations, SuperSport and Africa Independent Television (AIT) will broadcast the event live.

Last year, marked the first time that the nation’s football –governing body would organise Awards to reward and inspire the major actors and actresses in the Nigerian Football space.

On Monday, gongs will be presented to winners in Player of the Year (men), Player of the Year (women), Coach of the Year (men), Coach of the Year (women), Young Player of the Year (men), Young Player of the Year (women), Team of the Season, Fairplay Award, Goal of the Season, Fans of the Season, NFF Development Award, NFF Order of Merit Award, Lifetime Achievement Award and Platinum Award categories.

Also, there will be special recognition of a ‘Legends Eleven,’ a squad of outstanding former Nigeria international players. 

Last year’s gong went to the 1973 set of Green Eagles that won Nigeria’s first major honour – the gold medal of the football event of the 2nd All-Africa Games that held in Lagos.

Chairman of the Organizing Committee, Seyi Akinwunmi also confirmed that this year’s honour will go to the Super Eagles’ Class of 1994 – the team that qualified Nigeria for her first –ever FIFA World Cup finals, won the Africa Cup of Nations for the first time on away ground and spectacularly reached the Round of 16 at the FIFA World Cup finals in USA.


Young Player of the Year (Women): Rasheedat Ajibade

Young Player of the Year (Men): Ikouwem Udoh

Fair Play Award: Remo Stars FC

Fans of the Season: El-Kanemi Warriors FC Fans

Coach of the Year (Women): Ann Chiejine

Coach of the Year (Men): Kennedy Boboye

Goal of the Year: Sikiru Olatubosun (MFM FC)

Team of the Season: Plateau United FC

NFF Development Award: Channels Television (Channels Kids’ Cup)

Legends Eleven: Ann Chiejine, Austin Eguavoen, Felix Owolabi, Nwankwo Kanu, Christian Chukwu, Uche Okechukwu, Segun Odegbami, Mercy Akide-Udoh, Thompson Usiyen, Augustine ‘Jay Jay’ Okocha, Adokiye Amiesimaka

Special Recognition: Nigeria’s 1973 All-Africa Games Gold Medallists

Platinum Award: Gianni Infantino



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.